“Boogie, Chilluns”: On Saving Mountains and Crossing the Imaginary Line

“Boogie, Chilluns”

  “Boogie, Chilluns”: On Saving Mountains and Crossing the Imaginary Line

  By Rachel Parsons

  First Printed in Now & Then: The Appalachian Magazine, Volume 27, Number 1, “Greening Appalachia”

I am a mountain girl, born and raised in the mountains of Appalachia. Specifically, I spent my childhood on a farm in Mercer County, West Virginia. My family has never had a lot of money, though always enough to get by. I grew up playing outside instead of playing video games, and as such developed a deep sense of wonder for the trees and hills my family lived amongst. I could write page after page about all the good things that nature has done for me, but what I want to write about now is how people can give back to nature for a change.

Follow above link to read complete article.

One thought on ““Boogie, Chilluns”: On Saving Mountains and Crossing the Imaginary Line

  1. […] inspiring. After I heard Judy speak, I got involved. I went to a couple of actions, such as the one where my grandfather was arrested. My involvement has been limited, particularly since I’ve been attending East Tennessee State […]

Leave a comment